NTAs shortlist: Ant and Dec, Suranne Jones, Rylan Clark, Aidan Turner

Published Tuesday, Jan 5 2016, 00:01 GMT  |  By  |  Add comment
Who's made the shortlist for the National Television Awards?

Viewers have voted on Britain's best-loved programmes for the 21st NTAs, which will be hosted by Dermot O'Leary, and the shortlist has now been announced.

In the New Drama category, Poldark, Humans, Doctor Foster and Ordinary Lies go head-to-head, and the latter two were actually named by Reveal as TV picks of 2015. But which show will take home the big prize?

Doctor Foster, Suranne Jones, Wed 9 Sep


Will Suranne Jones and Doctor Foster win on the night?

In a first for the annual awards ceremony, factual programmes have been pitted against entertainment shows in a new all-embracing category, TV Presenter.

Usually, Geordie duo Ant and Dec have dominated the Entertainment Presenter category for the past 14 years, but with this new category, will they finally have competition on their hands?

Other contenders up for a presenter gong include The Great British Bake Off's Mel and Sue, Graham Norton, and for the first time ever, Big Brother star Rylan Clark.

Ant and Dec pose in the winners room with their awards for Best Entertainment Presenters at the National Television Awards at 02 Arena on January 21, 2015 in London, England.

© Anthony Harvey/Getty Images

More wins for Ant & Dec?

Rylan Clark - Celebrity Big Brother's Bit On The Side, Shown on Channel 5 HD. 21 January 2015.

© Channel 5 / Supplied by WENN

Rylan bags first ever nomination!

In typical fashion, Ant and Dec also compete against themselves in the Entertainment Programme category with Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway and I'm a Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here! The category is rounded off with The Graham Norton Show and Celebrity Juice.

Our favourite daytime shows will go head-to-head for the best Live Magazine Show with BBC Breakfast, Loose Women, The One Show and This Morning competing for the gong.

It's a tough shortlist for Drama Performance as we see Broadchurch's David Tennant, Black Work's Sheridan Smith, Doctor Foster's Suranne Jones and Poldark's Aidan Turner all in the running.

Poldark, Ross and Demelza, Sun 25 Apr


Will Aidan win for his portrayl in Poldark?

And on the soaps front, some of the past year's most gripping storylines has been shortlisted for Serial Drama Performance. On EastEnders we had Rakhee Thakrar's moving portrayal of Shabnam Kazemi (née Masood)'s stillbirth, while Danny Dyer portrayed Mick Carter's anger towards rapist Dean Wicks. Over on Coronation Street Alison King was at the centre of the drama as Carla Connor contemplated suicide, while on Emmerdale Michael Parr raised hell in the village as bad boy Ross Barton.

Elsewhere, soap stars Gemma Atkinson, Parry Glasspool, Richard Blackwood and Shayne Ward have been nominated in the Best Newcomer category.

EastEnders, Shabnam gives birth to her dead baby, Mon 31 Aug


It was heartache for Kush and Shabnam in EastEnders.

Emmerdale, Ross attacks Pete, Mon 26 Oct


Bad boy Ross was talk of the village in Emmerdale.

The nation must now decide which stars and shows get to win one of the coveted trophies. Check out the full nominations list and vote for free online at www.nationaltvawards.com or you can vote by phone 0905 647 2016. Votes close on 20 January.

The National Television Awards airs on ITV on 20 January from The O2 London.

Try Reveal's digital edition on iPhone & iPad. Subscribe now & never miss an issue!